Annual awards

Our annual awards recognise and reward significant scholarly contributions to the literature on social evaluations.

These include, but are not limited to, legitimacy, status, reputation and trust. There are two awards: Best Published Paper and Best Dissertation. Each is worth £1,000 and includes a funded trip to Oxford to attend the Oxford University Centre for Corporate Reputation annual Reputation Symposium in August/September. To be eligible for the Best Paper award, a full-length paper must have been published in an ISI-indexed, peer-reviewed academic journal.

This year's award is for all dissertations completed and papers published in 2023. The deadline for submissions is 31 May 2024. To submit your work for consideration, please email:

Past winners

Best paper

2022 - No award was made for this year.

2021 - Patrick Haack, Dirk Martignoni, and Dennis Schoeneborn for 'A Bait-and-Switch Model of Corporate Social Responsibility',  Academy of Management Review, Vol.46 No. 3, July 2021

2018 - Samuel P. Fraiberger, Roberta Sinatra, Magnus Resch, Christoph Riedl, Albert-Laszlo Barabasi for ‘Quantifying reputation and success in art’, Science 362

2017 - Justin Frake for ‘Selling Out: The Inauthenticity Discount in the Craft Beer Industry’, Management Science 63 (11)

2016 - Kelly Hewett, William Rand, Roland Rust and Harald van Heerde for ‘Brand buzz in the echoverse’, Journal of Marketing 80: 1-24

2015 - Michael K. Bednar, Matthew Kraatz and E. Geoffrey Love for ‘Paying the price? The impact of controversial governance practices on managerial reputation’, Academy of Management Journal 58 (6): 1740-60

2014 - Y. Sekou Bermiss, Brayden King and Edward Zajac for ‘Under construction: How commensuration and management fashion affect corporate reputation rankings’, Organization Science 25 (2)

2013 - Scott D Graffin, Jonathan Bundy, Joseph F Porac, James B Wade and Dennis P Quinn for ‘Falls from grace and the hazards of high status: The 2009 British MP expense scandal and its impact on parliamentary elites’, Administrative Science Quarterly, Vol 58, Issue 3, 2013

2012 - Jean-Philippe Vergne for ‘Stigmatized categories and public disapproval of organizations: A mixed-methods study of the global arms industry, 1996-2007’, Academy of Management Journal 55 (5): 1027-52

2011 - Yuri Mishina, Emily S. Block and Michael J. Mannor for ‘The path dependence of organizational reputation: How social judgment influences assessments of capability and character’, Strategic Management Journal 33: 459–477

2010 - Michael D. Pfarrer, Timothy Pollock and Violina Rindova for ‘A Tale of Two Assets: The Effects of Firm Reputation and Celebrity on Earnings Surprises and Investors' Reactions’, Academy of Management Journal 53 (5): 1131-52

2009 - Tillmann Wagner, Richard J. Lutz, Barton A. Weitz for ‘Corporate Hypocrisy: Overcoming the Threat of Inconsistent Corporate Social Responsibility Perceptions’, Journal of Marketing, Vol. 73, No. 6, pp. 77-91


Best dissertation

2022 - Samuel Mortimer, Intesa Sanpaolo Research Fellow, Centre for Corporate Reputation, Saïd Business School, University of Oxford, for 'Work: a Philosophical Investigation'.

2021 Anna Jasinenko, Senior Researcher at HEC Lausanne, for 'Public Value: Opportunities and Challenges to Capture the Organizational Contribution to the Common Good'.

2018 - Abbie Griffith Oliver, Assistant Professor, J. Mack Robinson College of Business, Georgia State University, for ‘Think Crisis, Think Female?: Stakeholder Reactions to CEOs Following Corporate Violations’

2017 - Xinran (Joyce) Wang, Assistant Professor in Management, Robert J. Trulaske, Sr. College of Business, University of Missouri, for ‘Three Essays of Negative Social Evaluations and Impression Management in the Social Media Era’

2016 - Georg Wernicke, Assistant Professor in Management at Copenhagen Business School, for ‘Media disapproval of CEO compensation: Determinants and consequences’

2015 - No award was made for this year.

2014 - Jonathan Bundy, Assistant Professor of Management and Organization at the Smeal College of Business, Pennsylvania State University, for ‘Reputations in flux: Examining how a firm’s multiple reputations influence reactions to negative violation’

2013 - Mary-Hunter McDonnell, Assistant Professor at the McDonough School of Business, Georgetown University, for her research into the strategic responses of the organizational targets of contentious social movement attacks

2012 - Anastasiya Zavyalova, Assistant Professor, Jones Graduate School of Business, Rice University, for ‘The benefits and burdens of high reputation during disruptions: The role of media reputation, organizational identification, and disruption type’

2011 - Jointly awarded to: M. Abrahim Soleimani, Eastern Washington University, for ‘Essays on corporate reputation: Antecedents and consequences' and to Dominik Breitinger, HEC Lausanne, for ‘Global challenges for global companies: A trilogy of essays on anti-firm activism, reputational damage and political responsibility’

2010 - Christine Falkenreck, University of Kassel, for ‘Impact on Reputation and Reputation Transfer in International Direct Marketing – Empirical Research in Five B-to-B Markets’