Faculty & Research
The School
Oxford University Centre for Business Taxation

Oxford University Centre for Business Taxation


The Centre is guided and directed by an external advisory board and a steering committee of Saїd Business School. The roles and membership of these bodies are given below.

Advisory Board

The role of the Advisory Board is to:

  1. Provide advice and guidance on the research programme for the Centre.
  2. Assist in the development of links between the Centre and the wider business, academic and policy communities.
  3. Assist the Director with fundraising for the Centre and income generation.
  4. Assess whether the Centre is substantially meeting its objectives before the end of the second academic year of its operation and annually thereafter.
  5. Receive and review: a. the annual financial report prepared by the Director, b. the five-year plan and annual operating plans & c. proposals for any substantial new external funding and commissioned research.

Membership of the Advisory Board

  •  Andrew Bonfield, Finance Director, National Grid
  •  Michael Devereux, Director, Oxford University Centre for Business Taxation
  •  Judith Freedman, Law Faculty, University of Oxford
  •  Colin Mayer (Chair), Saïd Business School, University of Oxford
  •  James Bowler Director General, (Tax and Welfare), HM Treasury
  •  Wolfgang Schön, Max Planck Institute for Tax Law and Public Finance, Munich
  •  Joel Slemrod, University of Michigan
  •  Edward Troup, Executive Chair and  Permanent Secretary, HMRC
  •  Chris Wales

Steering Committee

The Director of the Centre is responsible to the Steering Committee, which is a Committee of Saïd Business School. The terms of reference of the Steering Committee for the Centre are:

  1. To have general oversight of the Centre, and to maintain high academic standards of work.
  2. To review and approve the academic programme.
  3. To receive reports on academic activity and programmes and assess progress against original objectives.
  4. To approve the five-year plan, and annual operating plans.
  5. To monitor outcomes.
  6. To approve strategies for fundraising and income generation.
  7. To receive regular reports on applications for outside research grants.
  8. To monitor appointments to posts in the Centre funded by external research grants within overall School and University policy on such appointments.
  9. To approve the annual report of the Centre and to report at other times, as appropriate, to the Head of School.

Composition of the Steering Committee

  • Steve Bond, Economics Department, University of Oxford
  • Michael Devereux, Director, Oxford University Centre for Business Taxation
  • Judith Freedman, Law Faculty, University of Oxford
  • Clare Leaver, Blavatnik School of Government, University of Oxford
  • Glen Loutzenhiser, Law Faculty, University of Oxford
  • Alan Morrison, Saïd Business School
  • Felix Reed-Tsochas (Chair), Research Dean, Saïd Business School
  • Dimitrios Tsomocos, Saïd Business School
  • Tony Venables, Department of Economics, University of Oxford