Oxford Saïd – Risk Center at ETH Zürich Macro-finance conference 2023

Money, liquidity and financial stability

The event will focus on financial intermediation and macroeconomics.

Keynote speakers 

Professor Raghuram Rajan, Chicago Booth (confirmed)
Sir. Paul Tucker, Harvard Kennedy School (to be confirmed)   


The conference will present high-quality submissions at the intersection of financial intermediation and macroeconomics, both theoretical and empirical research, and a strong focus on theory. The conference dinner will take place at a historic Oxford college.

Topics are likely to include:

  • Inflation, debt sustainability, and bankruptcy risks
  • Monetary policy, macroprudential policy, and fiscal policy
  • Credit, money, liquidity, and payment systems
  • Climate risks and the macro-financial implications
  • International finance, sovereign debt, and exchange rates

Submission and registration

The submission deadline for papers has now passed. The conference is only open to accepted speakers and invited discussants.


Hans Gersbach (Risk Center at ETH Zürich)
Dimitrios Tsomocos (Saïd Business School and St. Edmund Hall, Oxford)
Oren Sussman (Saïd Business School, Oxford)
Xuan Wang (VU Amsterdam /Tinbergen Institute)

Conference programmes of previous years 2021 2022

Programme committee

Saleem Bahaj, UCL and BoE, Matthew Baron, Cornell, Pasquale Della Corte, Imperial College, Mariano Massimiliano Croce, Bocconi, Mathias Drehmann, BIS, Martin Ellison, Oxford (Econ), Andrea Ferrero, Oxford (Econ), Hans Gersbach, Risk Center at ETH Zürich, Alexander Guembel,Toulouse School of Economics, Alexandre Jeanneret, USNW Business School, Christoffer Koch, IMF, Jiri Knesl, Oxford (Saïd), Seung Joo Lee, Oxford (Saïd), Xavier Mateos-Planas, Queen Mary, Frederic Malherbe, UCL, Thomas Norman, Magdalen College, Oxford,Yuliyan Mitkov, Bonn, Udara Peiris, Oberlin College, Greg Phelan, Williams College, Ilaria Piatti, Queen Mary, Alessandro Rebucci, Johns Hopkins (Carey), Ricardo Reis, LSE, Phurichai Rungcharoenkitkul, BIS, Martin Schmalz, Oxford (Saïd), Norman Seeger, VU Amsterdam and Tinbergen, Oren Sussman, Oxford, Joel Shapiro, Oxford (Saïd), David Skeie, Warwick Business School, Dimitrios Tsomocos, Oxford (Saïd and St. Edmund Hall), Alex Vardoulakis, Fed Board of Governors, Xuan Wang, VU Amsterdam and Tinbergen, Kostas Zachariadis, Queen Mary, Francesco Zanetti, Oxford (Econ), Remco Zwinkels, VU Amsterdam/Tinbergen