Oxford Saïd – Risk Center at ETH Zürich Macro-finance Conference

Money, liquidity, and financial stability

Jointly organised by the Risk Center at ETH Zürich and Saïd Business School.

Keynote speakers

  • Herakles Polemarchakis, University of Warwick
  • Harald Uhlig, University of Chicago

Invited speakers

  • Eduardo Davila, Yale University
  • Tim Eisert, Erasmus School of Economics


The Risk Center at ETH Zürich and Saïd Business School at the University of Oxford jointly invite submissions to the Oxford Saïd – Risk Center at ETH Zürich Macro-finance Conference. The conference will be held over two days (July 3rd and 4th 2020) at Saïd Business School in Oxford. We welcome high-quality submissions at the intersection of financial intermediation and macroeconomics, both theoretical and empirical research, and a strong focus on theory would be welcome. Topics of interest include but are not limited to:

  • Credit, money, liquidity, and the payment system
  • Monetary policy, macroprudential policy, and financial stability
  • Systemic risks, default, and financial crises
  • International finance, sovereign debt, and price-level/nominal exchange rate determinacy
  • Cryptocurrencies, fintech, and the macro-financial implications
  • Monetary and banking history

Paper submission procedure

The deadline for submission is 31th March 2020, and early submissions are encouraged. Papers should be submitted to oxford.eth.macrofinance@gmail.com stating whether you would also be willing to discuss a paper. Please name the manuscript as 'Last Name_First Name' of the submitting author. Decisions will be announced in early April. We provide accommodation and meals for invited participants, and a conference dinner at a historic college of Oxford. There is a limited budget available for travel.


  • Hans Gersbach, Risk Center at ETH Zürich
  • Oren Sussman, Saïd Business School, Oxford
  • Dimitrios Tsomocos, Saïd Business School, Oxford
  • Xuan Wang, Saïd Business School, Oxford

Local conference secretaries: Theofanis Papmichalis, Daniel Pesch, and Tatjana Schulze

Programme Committee

  • Klaus Adam, Oxford (Econ)
  • Saleem Bahaj, BoE
  • Matthew Baron, Cornell
  • Fabio Braggion, Tilburg
  • Markus Brunnermeier, Princeton
  • Pasquale Della Corte, Imperial College
  • Mariano Massimiliano Croce, Bocconi
  • Mathias Drehmann, BIS
  • Martin Ellison, Oxford (Econ)
  • Andrea Ferrero, Oxford (Econ)
  • Hans Gersbach, Risk Center at ETH Zürich
  • Daniel Green, Harvard Business School
  • Alexander Guembel,Toulouse School of Economics
  • Alexandre Jeanneret, HEC Montreal
  • Bige Kahraman, Oxford (Saïd)
  • Jiri Knesl, Oxford (Saïd)
  • Christoffer Koch, FRB Dallas
  • Pablo Kurlat, USC
  • Ricardo Lagos, NYU
  • Frederic Malherbe, UCL
  • Xavier Mateos-Planas, Queen Mary
  • Michael McMahon, Oxford (Econ)
  • Yuliyan Mitkov, Bonn
  • Thomas Noe, Oxford (Saïd)
  • Thomas Norman, Magdalen College, Oxford
  • Anna Pavlova, LBS
  • Udara Peiris, ICEF HSE
  • Greg Phelan, Williams College
  • Ilaria Piatti, Oxford (Saïd)
  • Alessandro Rebucci, Johns Hopkins (Carey)
  • Ricardo Reis, LSE
  • Phurichai Rungcharoenkitkul, BIS
  • Martin Schmalz, Oxford (Saïd)
  • Jesse Schreger, Columbia
  • Moritz Schularick, Bonn
  • Norman Seeger, VU Amsterdam/Tinbergen
  • Tatsuro Senga, Queen Mary
  • Joel Shapiro, Oxford (Saïd)
  • Kevin Sheedy, LSE
  • David Skeie, Warwick Business School
  • Oren Sussman, Oxford (Saïd)
  • Dimitrios Tsomocos, Oxford (Saïd)
  • Alex Vardoulakis, Fed Board of Governors
  • Xuan Wang, Oxford (Saïd)
  • Kostas Zachariadis, Queen Mary
  • Francesco Zanetti, Oxford (Econ)
  • Remco Zwinkels, VU Amsterdam/Tinbergen